About The
LD 18 Democrats

Located in Maricopa County, Arizona, Legislative District 18 includes west Chandler, south Tempe, southwest Mesa, and Ahwatukee in Phoenix. Legislative District 18 is in Congressional District 9.

We fight for quality public schools, well-paying jobs, a strong economy, responsible government, marriage equality, and much more.

As one of the strongest and most active legislative district parties in the state of Arizona, we work to elect Democrats up and down the ballot.  We have meetings, coffee events, and activities planned each month, and would love for you to join us!

Please join us at any of our activities. At this time nearly all are safely on Zoom.  Please check our calendar to see what’s coming up next.

Alison Porter
Chair, LD18 Democrats

Janie Hydrick, Previous Chair of LD18 Democrats

Janie Hydrick, former candidate for Arizona state Senate in LD18, was elected Chair of LD18 Democrats at our monthly meeting in January 2016.
Janie grew up in Arizona attending public elementary and high schools in Arizona. She holds multiple degrees, including a doctorate, from the University of Arizona, Arizona State University, and Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University.

A lifelong educator, Janie has taught all levels from kindergarten through graduate school and has also done extensive training of teachers in professional development.

Janie has won numerous community and professional awards, including 1985 Tempe Woman of the Year, the 1989 Excellence in Language Arts Teaching Award from the Arizona English Teachers Association, and the 2011 Human and Civil Rights Award from the Arizona Education Association.

Master AI_Full-Color Wordmark on Light

Paid For by LD18 Democrats | Authorized by LD18 Democrats


Legislative District 18 Democrats, P.O. Box 50272, Phoenix, AZ 85076

Follow Us

Master AI_Full-Color Wordmark on Light

Authorized and paid for by LD18 Democrats